Windchimes

October 3, 2007

BookaLah

Filed under: Doodles, Blabs and Rants — Tags: , , , — didee @ 3:11 pm

Last sunday, I had my first membership card here in Singapore. After getting my EP (Employment Pass) , I now have the necessary document(s) to enroll myself into something. Heck, even renting a place would need that card. If LOTR has one ring to unite them all, I have the one card to authorize me to do it all.

After church, me and a few of my housemates went to the library. Of all places to spend your Sunday afternoon, the Book-bin would probably be the last on your list. But I was on cloud 9. Imagine rows upon rows of books, fiction, non-fiction, documentaries, general knowledge, etc. wonderously wonderful etc.

Before I left Pinas, I bought 4 books I can read when i get here. But, it didn’t end up as planned cause I’ve finish reading all books even before I started packing my stuff. Oh well…

So when we went to the library, with my EP in hand, I can’t wait to get myself a book to munch on. I became anti-social for a sec, left my friends in the middle of the 2nd floor “lobby”, and ran my fingers on my dearly beloved beckoning me to take them home. LOL. I found one, plucked it out from it’s nest and started reading the first chapter. It’s entitled Panic, by Jeff Abbott.

I looked for an empty seat where I could spend some quality time with dear ‘ol Jeff, but I found none. Yep, their library is full even on a Sunday. Even college libraries don’t get standing room only sign, and here I am resigning myself to sit on the carpeted floor, all for the sake of this religion i now call Bookalah. πŸ™‚

It is encouraging to note that they have a LOT of libraries here. Community libraries and regional libraries open 7 days a week, closes at 9:00 pm, and ready and willing to satisfy your book lust till you reach that wonderful place of orgasmic bliss.

My friends finally caught up with me and they said that we have to get some lunch already. Oh, I would have gladly passed up lunch, but my stomach started to growl and I knew I would have to do its bidding. So i “hid” the book in back of one of the display. I can’t take the chance of somebody borrowing it and I can’t wait weeks just to have it in my hands again. I checked on the computer and I know it has few other copies available not only in that library but even on other stations. But I can’t risk it! πŸ™‚

So I asked my friends to wait up while i sign up for membership and I could take my baby home with me. But the nice pretty lady in-charged told me they need my passport to sign me up. 😦

We went out of the book bin, had lunch in a nearby Kopitiam, while I count the minutes when I can get home, get my passport and sign myself up.But the moment I got home, turned on the a/c in our room, I fell asleep as soon as my back hit the bed.

When I woke up , it was almost 4pm, and I asked/begged/offered-to-be-his-slave-for-a-day my good friend Neil to come with me to the library. He’s also a book addict, and in our house he’s the only one who has a library card!

I immediately went to the nice pretty lady and said that I want to sign up for membership. She gave me a sad smile, as if empathizing with me, and said that their system is down for the moment and they could not process any membership application and renewal. Huhuhuhu… so near yet so far.

But their system is up for borrowing books though. (You don’t have to go to any librarian to check out books, just swipe it in the rows of pc’s provided and off you go!) There’s hope! Neil is a member. Neil has a library card. BUUUUT HE LEFT HIS CARD AT HOME! oh!!!!!

So we went home, sad and defeated (me only), and decided to play badminton instead. We played for 3 hours together with rest of the housemates. It was fun! fun! fun! πŸ™‚ A temporary salve to my bleeding and craving heart. I know my day wouldn’t be complete if I don’t get my hands on that book. Manggigil jud ko! Good thing Neil offered to borrow it for me after he get his library card at home. πŸ™‚

Ahh.. it was a long wait.. hahaha… just kidding. It took 3 trips to the library before I was able to take my babies back home, where I’ll be their foster mommy until oct.21 and I have to return them to their orphanage where other book-lust filled parents will adopt them for 3 weeks.

And as a bonus, when we went to the library for the last time, their system was up already and I have the requirements with me. So now I am a bonafide member, and I can hoard books to my heart’s content! πŸ™‚

4 Comments »

  1. i love their libraries too! i can stay there the whole day.
    pero di ko kasabot sa ilang classification system. mura dili dewey ang ginagamit. πŸ˜€ dont know where to look for the books na after i found them sa computer. πŸ˜€

    Comment by madz — October 5, 2007 @ 12:07 am

  2. hi maddie πŸ™‚

    as in… super nice ilang libraries… nakanganga jud ko hahaha πŸ™‚ at first ul get confused with the classification system, but after 5 minutes ul get the hang of it hehehe πŸ™‚

    thanks for dropping.. πŸ™‚

    Comment by didee — October 5, 2007 @ 1:29 pm

  3. there are also lots of libraries here and all free… unfortunately they are written in some alien characters πŸ˜€

    wahh good for you .. at least its all free…

    Comment by ideru — October 5, 2007 @ 11:21 pm

  4. hi del ,

    πŸ™‚ as in cloud 9 trip with inanimate objects hehehe πŸ™‚

    Ayu.ayu

    Comment by didee — October 8, 2007 @ 1:34 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

